[K-DRAMA] I Need Romance 3 (2014)

warning: may contain spoilers

I-Need-Romance-3-Poster2

Third season of the popular series I Need Romance. Like its past instalments, this drama depicts the lives of three women sharing their stories about love, friendships and relationships. This time the drama is set in a home shopping channel company.

Plot:

iXYok16Rs2tj0

Shin Joo Yeon is a workaholic who strives to reach a higher position in her workplace. She is often praised by her senior, Kang Tae Yoon, especially when she gets high ratings from broadcast. Joo Yeon focused on her work instead of getting into relationships as all her relationships didn’t worked out.

ibsUnisLHkW9dk

i9XJMZrsvvrjg

Meanwhile, Joo Wan is a famous songwriter who returned to Korea after spending 17 years living in a foreign country. He remembers Joo Yeon as his playmate and the one who took care of her as he was raised by Joo Yeon and her mom. Joo Wan practically remembers her as his first love as he shared so much memories with her. Joo Yeon is tied in the knot between these two guys, Tae Yoon and Joo Wan. Will she finally learn to love again after all those unsuccessful relationships that she had gone through?

 

iXnGWqi46FpPF

Lee Min Jung is oldest among the three but she doesn’t like getting into serious relationships. She always has a sex partner by the name of Ahn Min Seok and one day, he moves into the apartment unit next to hers. Not wanting to reveal herself, she goes to hide every time she sees him. Min Jung runs into a dilemma when she found out that she’s pregnant with Min Seok’s child. Will she finally reveal herself to him and tell him about the baby?

ibtKu1kkpKRwD1

Jung Hee Jae is the youngest among the three and she currently has a boyfriend who’s studying for the civil service exam. She doesn’t like the idea and often gets into an argument with him. Their relationship seems to reach the edge already. She often consults and ask advice to her male colleague, Lee Woo Young. Will Hee Jae’s relationship maintain and stay strong or will she let go?

Opinions:

1525317_545404862216938_1389317462_n

This season’s style followed the basics of a INR drama like having 3 ladies with their own stories and having 2 men courting the lead girl. But it’s not the usual INR like what I’ve watched in the past seasons. I was expecting so much more from this episode since they could have improved their mistakes from the past seasons. It seemed though that they have worsened. Season 1 and 2 were so racy, but Season 3 became a little conservative this time. Interesting plot and subplots, but I can’t choose which is the best. No one’s story really stood out. Actually Oh Se Ryung did well in portraying a mean girl. Also, the three ladies were actually workmates or officemates who became friends and not friends since they were young. I think it’s a big difference because your colleagues are not similar with your long time friends. You don’t always share the same stories to your colleagues as to your friends. I love that season 1 and 2 were real and long time friends who have different personalities and interests. In this season, they all work in the same field which it made it a little boring. Se Ryung and Joo Yeon’s childhood story was also something that I’ve seen in Kdramas as well; nothing new.

cuddled-up-under-the-stars

Something that I liked though (and probably the writers heard my wish..lol), was that we often see the lead guy pondering and we can hear his thoughts. Unlike the past seasons, it’s always the girl’s thoughts that we hear and often misunderstand the guys. I also like the fact that we get a super nice lead guy this time instead of nice second lead guys. I’m so tired of second lead guys who are super nice but they don’t get the girl in the end and we viewers tend to fall in love with him instead! It’s the charismatic mean lead guy who always wins the lead girl’s heart and the second lead guy wins the female viewers’ hearts. It’s not the case with this drama.

4380_16

There were some things that I didn’t quite liked in this drama. We have another lead couple which has the girl being older than the guy. It becomes a trend now recently, but am I the only one who doesn’t like this kind of pairing? Sometimes, I’ve seen these kinds of couples wherein the girl is the one taking care of the guy. Thank goodness, at least, Joo Wan is a mature guy and he take care of Joo Yeon like a real man. I also didn’t liked the plot itself. The drama situated in a home shopping channel company isn’t quite thrilling. I also didn’t like how Joo Wan came to Korea after 17 years of spending his life abroad, but he speaks Korean perfectly. Joo Yeon asked her this question as well as to why he can speak Korean so well and he answered “by watching Korean dramas”?! And the fact that he still remembers everything about his childhood days with Joo Yeon and how she takes care of him. It doesn’t make much sense because I couldn’t remember my childhood anymore; when I was 4-5? Who can remember that? I have to rely to my parents’ stories and just believe everything that they say about how I behave when I was a kid. I didn’t like the idea of that part.kimjisuk_inr3_cameo_05

Kim Ji Seok’s cameo appearance at Episode 3 as the dog owner was hilarious. If you’ve watched INR 2 or if you’re a loyal INR fan like me, you’d be surprised and happy to see him. I wished that Lee Jin Wook and other actors cameos too even if it’s just for a few seconds. This deserves a mention and a photo. lol

Characters:

1502469_547952831962141_1964116251_o

Kim So Yeon as Shin Joo Yeon — I loved Kim So Yeon in IRIS and Two Weeks. I could not think of any other actress who could do well in those badass roles. I was not quite ready to see such a feminine So Yeon with her long hair and all her pretty dresses. While watching her, there’s something that I didn’t like, I don’t know if it’s the problem of the actress or the role. All in all,  I prefer Kim So Yeon in boyish roles because that’s where I see her ability or potential as an actress. She’s not a much well-known actress internationally, and many people forget about her, but when it comes to boyish roles, I will definitely remember Kim So Yeon. I wish that she continues to take those kinds of roles; though it’s not pretty bad to see So Yeon try out different kinds of role from time to time.

1475853_547953531962071_607443672_n

Sung Joon as Joo Wan — He’s an actor with potential, I must say. I watched him briefly in Gu Family Book, but it wasn’t enough to catch my attention. Finally, a role in which he is the on the limelight. I’m not a Sung Joon fan but his character as Joo Wan is someone worth falling in love with. Joo Wan is such a loveable character that I think any actor who portrays him would make the female audience fall in love with him. I wish to see Sung Joon in another drama, but I prefer him as a second lead guy.

1501187_547952768628814_1350109466_o

Nam Goong Min as Kang Tae Yoon — I can’t believe I’m only seeing Nam Goong Min for the first time in this drama. I’ve never seen him in any other drama and here’s another cutie spotted. I find him in an attractive role as Kang Tae Yoon for being a super strict senior to Joo Yeon. He’s also half good and half bad when it comes to relationships..can’t really decide lol. I’m not sure if he’s clearly playing around with Joo Yeon when he’s still in love with his ex-girlfriend or he’s just trying to forget her thru dating Joo  Yeon. Nam Goong Min fits this role perfectly. He delivered the character in a hateful yet loveable way. I recently watched his episodes on We Got Married, and he was so freaking cute and hilarious. He doesn’t seem to act his age at all. I love how he’s able to show a different side of him through the variety show. He was once a newbie in variety shows, but now he teaches (brags) to his co-actors the techniques in filming variety shows in the recent episode.

Ending: (spoilers)

The ending was something that I predicted all along. I wished that they could do it in a fun and happier way. Joo Yeon and Wan ended up together as expected. It was nice to see that Joo Yeon finally opened up her heart to Wan during the latter end, and she’s unconsciously falling for him. It was a good thing that she realised her feelings because she will definitely be in good hands. Wan is such a sweetheart and your nice guy. A little part of me wanted Joo Yeon and Tae Yoon together because in my opinion, they look good more together..but I know that would never happen so I quickly let go of that thought. As for the two other ladies, it was a lovely sight to see that they got along well with their respective partners. Nothing much to look forward to as you get to the ending as everything was predictable.

iKaGYNC7sHtkH

Soundtrack:

Cute soundtrack but not one of my favourites. I still loved Season 2’s better. Some songs worth checking out though. “Don’t Cry” by Lee Hyo Ri is a sad song; the repetitive lyrics makes it easy to remember the tune of the song. “Peu A Peu” by Peppermoon is such a cute song. Peppermoon is a Parisian band by the way, so the language used is definitely not Korean. It makes the drama foreign-like and chic in a way. “Now and Forever” by Jo Jung Hee sounds like a foreign song as well, but she’s Korean. The lyrics are half English and half Korean, and with the addition of her soothing and unique voice, it makes the song so relaxing to listen to. If you’re a fan of Sung Joon, he has also contributed to the soundtrack by singing a song entitled “Love is Smiling”.

ShamelessCoverPhoto

Final Thoughts:

Overall, I Need Romance 3 is a so-so drama. I was kind of disappointed with the lack of excitement from the drama. It doesn’t follow the usual INR style which made me even sadder. I like both the leads individually but not as a pair. If the lead’s story doesn’t work, there’s always the two females’ stories to anticipate. Sadly, those two other stories didn’t make my heart flutter as well. I hate to say this, but I loved Season 1 and 2 better. I’ve seen some people saying this season was the best. I don’t know, I just find this drama not as enticing as the earlier seasons. Still, it’s a drama I recommend if you’re fan of the actors especially Sung Joon and if you just want to complete the INR series.

Rating: 6/10

I-Need-Romance-3-Poster1

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. gweyun
    Dec 14, 2014 @ 14:31:18

    Hello. This is A.K.I.A. Talking…
    Thanks for the great review of I Need Romance 3! I enjoyed it a lot.
    I added it to my collection of reviews for the show. The show has now an average score of 70.4%.
    Here is a link to the page if you would like to give it a look:
    http://www.akiatalking.com/2014/12/i-need-romance-3-2014-db-ratingsreviews.html
    Thanks again for the review.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

