Recommended Korean Dramas (2013)

2013 is over! I hope I’m not too late to post my list of recommended Korean dramas last 2013. I watched a total of 20 dramas and here’s my 5 favorites of the year in no particular order:

Gu-Family-Book-Wallpaper-4-bc

Gu Family Book

If you enjoyed Sungkyunkwan Scandal or Rooftop Prince, I’m sure you’ll enjoy this too!

Click for Full review

_When_A_Man_Loves_

When A Man Loves

Classified under melodramas, but I think it’s not too mellow. I love the uniqueness of the plot.

Click for Full review

Queen of ambition (yawang) poster

Queen of Ambition

Enjoy watching while cursing the main lead actress..

Click for Full review

Cruel_City_-_Korean_Drama-0001

Heartless City

Full of action. May be a little violent for non-action genre enthusiasts.

Click for Full review

9-Times-Time-Travel-Poster1

Nine: Nine Times Time Travel

Best time travel drama ever. Suspenseful and full of surprises.

Click for Full review

As you can notice, I especially love action and melodrama genre dramas. Your list may be different with my list, but these dramas in my list were not really popular in Korea and overseas. I believe that these dramas definitely deserve some attention as well. I’m looking more into the plot and the enjoyment while watching the drama followed by the actors.

Runner-ups:

Secret_Love-p

Secret

Click for Full review

masters-sun-31

Master’s Sun

Click for Full review

1375108481-3059343286

Two Weeks

Click for Full review

Who Are You

Click for Full review

Here are the rest of the dramas that I’ve watched:

School-2013-Poster3

School 2013

Click for Full review

Jang_Ok-jung,_Live_for_Love-poster

Jang Ok Jung, Live by Love

Click for Full review

I Hear Your Voice

Click for Full review

That Winter the Wind Blows

Click for Full review

Good_DoctorKBS22013

Good Doctor

Click for Full review

Marry-Him-If-You-Dare-Front

Marry Him If You Dare

Click for Full review

The-Heirs-Poster2

The Heirs

Click for Full review

NailShopParisMBC

Nail Shop Paris

Click for Full review

Monstar_Poster

Monstar

Click for Full review

Answer Me 1994

Click for Full review

I’ll update this list when I get to watch new 2013 dramas. Please also be patient for the other dramas that I have not written reviews yet.

It’s my first time to do a drama marathon for one specific year and I’m not so sure if I really did spend my time wisely. There were a number of ‘popular’ dramas that made me disappointed and I felt that I wasted my time watching it. There were also a number of dramas that surprisingly made me enjoyed my time while watching it. In particular, most of my 5 favourites weren’t even the most talked about dramas of the year. All in all, 2013 was a great drama year. There were good and there were bad. What’s most important is that you had fun!

Leave a Reply

