[K-DRAMA] Lie To Me

warning: may contain spoilers

250px-Lie_to_Me-p2

I find many Korean dramas interesting and enjoyable to watch, but not this one. This was probably the first Korean drama that I got disappointed in.

Cover Part 2 Lie To Me OST

The plot is somewhat ordinary and simple. The female lead character is Ah Jung, played by Yoon Eun Hye. Ah Jung is about to reach her 30s and she is still single. She has been mad at her friend for stealing the guy who’s her first love. Her first love and her friend got married, so she was jealous. Ah Jung and her friend met at a shop and because she didn’t want to lose to her, she lied and said she’s married. One day, she visits World Hotel and she was planning to talk to the CEO who is Hyun Ki Joon, played by Kang Ji Hwan. While waiting, she spilled her tomato juice and fell off her chair. To avoid embarrassment, she pretends to faint. Ki Joon carried her on his arms and sends her to one of the hotel rooms. One of Ah Jung’s friends apparently saw the incident and spread this around and this reached her friend, Yoo So Ran, who betrayed her. The news became bigger and it was reported that the girl was married to the CEO of World Hotel. The lies became bigger and bigger. Ah Jung who wanted to please her friends and make them believe her lie asked for Ki Joon’s help like borrowing his house, being her date, etc. Eventually after all these circumstances happened, they fell in love for each other. However, Ki Joon also has an unfinished business with another girl named Yoon Joo. Ki Joon was supposed to be marrying her a few years ago, but the wedding got called off because Ki Joon’s brother, Sang Hee which was played by Sung Joon likes Yoon Joo. Yoon Joo came back and she was trying to win back Ki Joon. Eventually, she gave up because Ki Joon already chose Ah Jung over her. All those trials and challenges that the Ki Joon – Ah Jung couple faced resulted in a good way. Despite Ah Jung wanting to work in Jeju, they had a happily ever after story.  

Lie-to-me-lie-to-me-korean-drama-33896465-1280-720

This is also another unrealistic drama. I mean, if they were really married, and if it was spread in the news, they could find documents that support that matter right? With one simple lie, a drama is made 🙂 great thinking! But, I didn’t like this series at all. I was really looking forward to watching this drama but it just left me in disappointment. After watching the first episode, I didn’t find it appealing and there was nothing to look out for. Usually, I really like the first episodes of Korean dramas but this is totally different. It’s so boring in the first episode and throughout the whole series. It was so draggy. I also thought that the leads lacked chemistry. Yoon Eun Hye was quite good, but the Kang Ji Hwan was lacking something. Every episode didn’t have a good ending or a cliff hanger. It doesn’t make me want to watch the rest of the episodes. The choice of the casts could’ve done better. I also felt that the second male lead, Sang Hee which was played by Sung Joon should have more parts. He had a lot of parts in the first half of the drama but in the second half, he just gradually faded out and he didn’t have any importance anymore. I wished he was given more parts and probably a chance to chase the girl and have more story. His character wasn’t used efficiently and he wasn’t able to show his acting skills in this drama. I now knew why this drama didn’t garner high ratings in Korea. Probably one of the worst korean dramas I have ever watched. I usually like Korean dramas. There aren’t a plenty of korean dramas that I disliked. Most of them I really enjoyed. This is the reason why I gradually shifted from watching Taiwanese to Korean dramas because Korean dramas have a lot more to offer and Taiwanese dramas are usually the boring ones. But this is actually a first which i ever rated that i didn’t really like. I’m disappointed.

I thought this was going to be a nice series because of Yoon Eun Hye who also starred in popular series like Goong and Coffee Prince, but I was just left in disappointment. It’s unappealing and draggy. It was boring throughout. I don’t understand why many people liked it, but it’s a no-no for me.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. melnahier
    Dec 11, 2013 @ 17:50:00

    i like this series lie to me,im looking forward to see both of you n the series or mpvie you’r just perfect match
    Though i watc it lately but i like it,,,

    Reply

  2. Alicia
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 20:28:06

    I watched this looooong ago and I couldn’t even remember what it was about. It was so boring and disappointing

    Reply

    • rockkstarr21
      Mar 05, 2014 @ 13:14:12

      My friend recommended this to me. I didn’t understand why she liked it and vice versa. lol we all have our own opinions, but finally someone agrees with me ^^

      Reply

Leave a Reply

